← Go back


In order that they can express their individuality in their approach to music, competitors in the Dublin International Piano Competition may perform programmes of their own choice. These programmes should demonstrate an understanding of programme building, an ability to play in a variety of musical styles and most importantly to show the depth of their own musicianship, rather than mere technical brilliance. The repertoire must have been written for solo piano, and no alteration to the piano may take place.

Time limits must be strictly adhered to, and no piece may be performed more than once.

In the semi-finals all competitors must select one of three specially commissioned pieces by RTÉ lyric FM (duration of 5 minutes) by Irish composers: Amanda Feery, Dave Fennessy, Deirdre McKay and Ryan Molloy.

This piece may be performed with a score and the music will be sent to accepted candidates in February 2022.


The Repertoire must have been written for solo piano and no alteration to the piano may take place. Strict adherence to time limits must be observed, and no piece may be played twice in the Competition.
The exact duration of each piece must be given.
1st Round: 30 Minute recital
2nd Round: 40 Minute recital
Semi-final Round: 50 (45) minute recital *

Final Round: Concertos

* In selecting the semi-final recital programme, consideration in timing should be given to the five minute compulsory piece.


Each competitor must choose TWO contrasting concertos from the following list. They should indicate their first preference, but in the case where more than two of the finalists choose the same concerto, the jury reserves the right to select the other concerto.

(The jury will not be informed of the competitors first preference).

  • Mozart Concerto No. 9 in E flat K271
  • Mozart Concerto No. 15 in B flat K450
  • Mozart Concerto No. 17 in G K453
  • Mozart Concerto No. 20 in d minor K466
  • Mozart Concerto No. 21 in C K467
  • Mozart Concerto No. 23 in A K488
  • Mozart Concerto No. 24 in c minor K491
  • Mozart Concerto No. 25 in C K503
  • Mozart Concerto No. 27 in B flat K595
  • Beethoven Concerto No. 1 in C Op. 15
  • Beethoven Concerto No. 2 in B flat Op. 19
  • Beethoven Concerto No. 3 in c minor Op. 37
  • Beethoven Concerto No. 4 in G Op. 58
  • Beethoven Concerto No. 5 in E flat Op. 73
  • Chopin Concerto No. 1 in e minor Op. 11
  • Chopin Concerto No. 2 in f minor Op. 21
  • Schumann Concerto in a minor Op. 54
  • Brahms Concerto No. 1 in d minor Op. 15
  • Liszt Concerto No. 1 in E flat
  • Grieg Concerto in a minor Op. 16
  • Tchaikovsky Concerto No. 1 in b flat minor Op. 23
  • Rachmaninov Concerto No. 2 in c minor Op. 18
  • Rachmaninov Concerto No. 3 in d minor Op. 30
  • Rachmaninov Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini Op. 43
  • Ravel Concerto in G major
  • Bartók Concerto No. 3 (1945)
  • Prokofiev Concerto No. 2 in g minor Op. 16
  • Prokofiev Concerto No. 3 in C Op. 26


DIPC 2022 international jury

The 2022 DIPC international jury

Read More
DIPC 2022 final NCH

The Final of DIPC 2022 is now available to watch online

Read More
DIPC Winner 2022

Announcing Prizewinners of DIPC 2022

Read More